Coverart for item
The Resource A poet of the invisible world, Michael Golding

A poet of the invisible world, Michael Golding

Label
A poet of the invisible world
Title
A poet of the invisible world
Statement of responsibility
Michael Golding
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"A Poet of the Invisible World is the story of a boy born in thirteenth-century Persia with four ears instead of two. Orphaned as an infant, he's taken into a Sufi order, where he meets an assortment of dervishes and is placed upon a path towards spiritual awakening. He studies the Koran and the principles of Sufism. He meets his first love, a handsome youth named Vishpar. When marauders attack the lodge, however, he's swept off to a series of grueling adventures and an assortment of shifting roles: tea boy in the court of a Spanish sultan, shepherd on a barren farm in the mountains, sybarite in a bustling city on the north coast of Africa. As he stumbles from one painful experience to the next, he grows into manhood. And when fate leads him to a Sufi order perched high in the mountains, he's ready to begin the true work of spiritual development. Now the tests are more subtle: the animosity of a fellow Sufi who has dogged him since childhood, a love affair with an acolyte who's been brought under his wing. But each trial shatters another obstacle within--and leads him on toward transcendence. - A beautiful gift package, with french flaps and deckle edge - For readers of Herman Hesse's Siddhartha, Arundhati Roy's The God of Small Things, and Paolo Coelho"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
813/.54
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3557.O3644
LC item number
P64 2015
Literary form
novels
Label
A poet of the invisible world, Michael Golding
Link
http://www.netread.com/jcusers2/bk1388/286/9781250071286/image/lgcover.9781250071286.jpg
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
324 pages
Isbn
9781250071286
Lccn
2015021673
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
bro-copy20151209-084
System control number
  • 915159404
  • (OCoLC)915159404
Label
A poet of the invisible world, Michael Golding
Link
http://www.netread.com/jcusers2/bk1388/286/9781250071286/image/lgcover.9781250071286.jpg
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
324 pages
Isbn
9781250071286
Lccn
2015021673
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
bro-copy20151209-084
System control number
  • 915159404
  • (OCoLC)915159404

Library Locations

    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      100 Larkin Street, San Francisco, CA, 94102, US
      37.779376 -122.415795
Processing Feedback ...