The Resource The grouchy historian : an old-time lefty defends our Constitution against right-wing hypocrites and nutjobs, Ed Asner and Ed. Weinberger, (electronic resource)

The grouchy historian : an old-time lefty defends our Constitution against right-wing hypocrites and nutjobs, Ed Asner and Ed. Weinberger, (electronic resource)

Label
The grouchy historian : an old-time lefty defends our Constitution against right-wing hypocrites and nutjobs
Title
The grouchy historian
Title remainder
an old-time lefty defends our Constitution against right-wing hypocrites and nutjobs
Statement of responsibility
Ed Asner and Ed. Weinberger
Creator
Contributor
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In the tradition of Al Franken and Michael Moore, Ed Asner-a.k.a. Lou Grant from The Mary Tyler Moore Show-reclaims the Constitution from the right-wingers who think that they and only they know how to interpret it. Ed Asner, a self-proclaimed dauntless Democrat from the old days, figured that if the right-wing wackos are wrong about voter fraud, Obama's death panels, and climate change, they are probably just as wrong about what the Constitution says. There's no way that two hundred-plus years later, the right-wing ideologues know how to interpret the Constitution. On their way home from Philadelphia the people who wrote it couldn't agree on what it meant. What was the president's job' Who knew' All they knew was that the president was going to be George Washington and as long as he was in charge, that was good enough. When Hamilton wanted to start a national bank, Madison told him that it was unconstitutional. Both men had been in the room when the Constitution was written. And now today there are politicians and judges who claim that they know the original meaning of the Constitution. Are you kidding' In The Grouchy Historian, Ed Asner leads the charge for liberals to reclaim the Constitution from the right-wingers who use it as their justification for doing whatever terrible thing they want to do, which is usually to comfort the comfortable and afflict the afflicted. It's about time someone gave them hell and explained that progressives can read, too
Cataloging source
TOH
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Asner, Edward
Dewey number
342.7302
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
LC call number
JK275
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
  • dictionaries
  • bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Weinberger, Ed
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • United States.
  • BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Entertainment & Performing Arts
  • United States
  • United States
Label
The grouchy historian : an old-time lefty defends our Constitution against right-wing hypocrites and nutjobs, Ed Asner and Ed. Weinberger, (electronic resource)
Link
http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=372&titleID=3249680
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
Electronic book
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Introduction: Why I wrote this book -- The founders and framers: who were those guys? -- Snapshots of life in Philadelphia, 1787 -- Heckling the right wing: their top ten talking points and my top ten comebacks -- God and the Constitution, Part I: Epistle to the Christian Right -- God and the Constitution, Part II: Epistle to the Mormons -- The writing of the Constitution: notes from the Constitutional Convention as recorded by Billey, slave to James Madison, May 6 to September 17, 1787 -- Charles Beard's economic interpretation of the Constitution, Part I: meeting the framers -- Charles Beard's economic interpretation of the Constitution, Part II: following the money -- The chapter of leftovers, Part I -- Open letter to Senator Ted Cruz written in the style of 1787 -- The Constitution according to Ben Carson, MD -- Rewriting the Constitution: Mark Levin and the Asner Amendments -- Immigration and Ann Coulter: a review that was never published in the New York Times Book Review -- The shocking truth about the Bill of Rights -- The Bill of Rights in the real world -- The chapter of leftovers, Part II -- The Emperor has no robes: Justice Antonin Scalia and Citizens United -- Scarier that Scalia: Introducing Justice Clarence Thomas -- What in Hell is a strict constructionist? -- Anonymous letter to certain members of the Supreme Court -- The chapter of leftovers, Part III -- The Second Amendment: Guns and the NRA -- In conclusion -- Appendix: The Constitution of the United States: a transcription
Dimensions
unknown
Edition
First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition.
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781501166037
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
illustrations
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
ca17eef6-4118-4e22-a742-640a2dd72af8
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
(OCoLC)1005090322
Label
The grouchy historian : an old-time lefty defends our Constitution against right-wing hypocrites and nutjobs, Ed Asner and Ed. Weinberger, (electronic resource)
Link
http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=372&titleID=3249680
Publication
Copyright
Note
Electronic book
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Introduction: Why I wrote this book -- The founders and framers: who were those guys? -- Snapshots of life in Philadelphia, 1787 -- Heckling the right wing: their top ten talking points and my top ten comebacks -- God and the Constitution, Part I: Epistle to the Christian Right -- God and the Constitution, Part II: Epistle to the Mormons -- The writing of the Constitution: notes from the Constitutional Convention as recorded by Billey, slave to James Madison, May 6 to September 17, 1787 -- Charles Beard's economic interpretation of the Constitution, Part I: meeting the framers -- Charles Beard's economic interpretation of the Constitution, Part II: following the money -- The chapter of leftovers, Part I -- Open letter to Senator Ted Cruz written in the style of 1787 -- The Constitution according to Ben Carson, MD -- Rewriting the Constitution: Mark Levin and the Asner Amendments -- Immigration and Ann Coulter: a review that was never published in the New York Times Book Review -- The shocking truth about the Bill of Rights -- The Bill of Rights in the real world -- The chapter of leftovers, Part II -- The Emperor has no robes: Justice Antonin Scalia and Citizens United -- Scarier that Scalia: Introducing Justice Clarence Thomas -- What in Hell is a strict constructionist? -- Anonymous letter to certain members of the Supreme Court -- The chapter of leftovers, Part III -- The Second Amendment: Guns and the NRA -- In conclusion -- Appendix: The Constitution of the United States: a transcription
Dimensions
unknown
Edition
First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition.
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781501166037
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
illustrations
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
ca17eef6-4118-4e22-a742-640a2dd72af8
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
(OCoLC)1005090322

Library Locations

  • Anza LibraryBorrow it
    550 37th Avenue, San Francisco, CA, 94121, US
    37.778535 -122.497218
  • Bayview/Linda Brooks-Burton LibraryBorrow it
    5075 3rd Street, San Francisco, CA, 94124, US
    37.732534 -122.391121
  • Bernal Heights LibraryBorrow it
    500 Cortland Avenue, San Francisco, CA, 94110, US
    37.738862 -122.416132
  • Bookmobiles / Mobile OutreachBorrow it
    San Francisco, CA, US
  • Chinatown/Him Mark Lai LibraryBorrow it
    1135 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA, 94108, US
    37.795248 -122.410239
  • Eureka Valley/Harvey Milk Memorial LibraryBorrow it
    1 Jose Sarria Court, San Francisco, CA, 94114, US
    37.764084 -122.431821
  • Excelsior LibraryBorrow it
    4400 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA, 94112, US
    37.727127 -122.433284
  • Glen Park LibraryBorrow it
    2825 Diamond Street, San Francisco, CA, 94131, US
    37.733969 -122.433723
  • Golden Gate Valley LibraryBorrow it
    1801 Green Street, San Francisco, CA, 94123, US
    37.797819 -122.428950
  • Ingleside LibraryBorrow it
    1298 Ocean Ave, San Francisco, CA, 94112, US
    37.724132 -122.456251
  • Marina LibraryBorrow it
    1890 Chestnut Street, San Francisco, CA, 94123, US
    37.801325 -122.434154
  • Merced LibraryBorrow it
    155 Winston Drive, San Francisco, CA, 94132, US
    37.726735 -122.474482
  • Mission Bay LibraryBorrow it
    960 4th Street, San Francisco, CA, 94158, US
    37.775330 -122.393195
  • Mission LibraryBorrow it
    300 Bartlett St, San Francisco, CA, 94110, US
    37.751989 -122.419843
  • Noe Valley/Sally Brunn LibraryBorrow it
    451 Jersey Street, San Francisco, CA, 94114, US
    37.750180 -122.435116
  • North Beach LibraryBorrow it
    850 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA, 94133, US
    37.802585 -122.413280
  • Ocean View LibraryBorrow it
    345 Randolph Street, San Francisco, CA, 94132, US
    37.714138 -122.466002
  • Ortega LibraryBorrow it
    3223 Ortega Street, San Francisco, CA, 94122, US
    37.751163 -122.498094
  • Park LibraryBorrow it
    1833 Page Street, San Francisco, CA, 94117, US
    37.770300 -122.451046
  • Parkside LibraryBorrow it
    1200 Taraval Street, San Francisco, CA, 94116, US
    37.743130 -122.479330
  • Portola LibraryBorrow it
    380 Bacon Street, San Francisco, CA, 94134, US
    37.727098 -122.406361
  • Potrero LibraryBorrow it
    1616 20th Street, San Francisco, CA, 94107, US
    37.760122 -122.397653
  • Presidio LibraryBorrow it
    3150 Sacramento Street, San Francisco, CA, 94115, US
    37.788875 -122.444892
  • Richmond/Senator Milton Marks LibraryBorrow it
    351 9th Ave, San Francisco, CA, 94118, US
    37.781855 -122.468054
  • San Francisco Public LibraryBorrow it
    100 Larkin Street, San Francisco, CA, 94102, US
    37.779376 -122.415795
  • Sunset LibraryBorrow it
    1305 18th Ave., San Francisco, CA, 94122, US
    37.763354 -122.476307
  • Visitacion Valley LibraryBorrow it
    201 Leland Avenue, San Francisco, CA, 94134, US
    37.712695 -122.407913
  • West Portal LibraryBorrow it
    190 Lenox Way, San Francisco, CA, 94127, US
    37.741341 -122.465883
  • Western AdditionBorrow it
    1550 Scott Street, San Francisco, CA, 94115, US
    37.784121 -122.437503
Processing Feedback ...