Coverart for item
The Resource The selling of the Babe : the deal that changed baseball and created a legend, Glenn Stout

The selling of the Babe : the deal that changed baseball and created a legend, Glenn Stout

Label
The selling of the Babe : the deal that changed baseball and created a legend
Title
The selling of the Babe
Title remainder
the deal that changed baseball and created a legend
Statement of responsibility
Glenn Stout
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"The complete story surrounding the most famous and significant player transaction in professional sports The sale of Babe Ruth by the Boston Red Sox to the New York Yankees in 1919 is one of the pivotal moments in baseball history, changing the fortunes of two of baseball's most storied franchises, and helping to create the legend of the greatest player the game has ever known. More than a simple transaction, the sale resulted in a deal that created the Yankee dynasty, turned Boston into an also-ran, helped save baseball after the Black Sox scandal and led the public to fall in love with Ruth. Award-winning baseball historian Glenn Stout reveals brand-new information about Babe and the unique political situation surrounding his sale, including: Prohibition and the lifting of Blue Laws in New York affected Yankees owner and beer baron Jacob Ruppert; previously unexplored documents reveal that the mortgage of Fenway Park did not factor into the Ruth sale; Ruth's disruptive influence on the Red Sox in 1918 and 1919, including sabermetrics showing his negative impact on the team as he went from pitcher to outfielder. The Selling of Babe is the first book to focus on the ramifications of the sale and captures the central moment of Ruth's evolution from player to icon, and will appeal to fans of The Kid and Pinstripe Empire. Babe's sale to New York and the subsequent selling of Ruth to America led baseball from the Deadball Era and sparked a new era in the game, one revolved around the long ball and one man, The Babe"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
contains biographical information
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1958-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Stout, Glenn
Dewey number
796.357092
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • plates
Index
index present
LC call number
GV865.R8
LC item number
S764 2016
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Ruth, Babe
  • Boston Red Sox (Baseball team)
  • New York Yankees (Baseball team)
  • Baseball players
Label
The selling of the Babe : the deal that changed baseball and created a legend, Glenn Stout
Link
http://www.netread.com/jcusers2/bk1388/318/9781250064318/image/lgcover.9781250064318.jpg
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Bar code
  • 31223116530073
  • 31223117157579
  • 31223117157629
  • 31223117157637
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 257-275) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
September 11, 1918 -- George Herman Ruth -- This means war -- 1918 -- Hijinks and heroes -- Out of left field -- Rebellion and revolution -- The Insurrectors -- For sale -- Welcome to New York -- The "Infant Swatigy" -- A new day -- Making the sale -- The Babe -- Closing the sale -- Appendix. Babe Ruth home run log : 1915 through 1920
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
294 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates
Isbn
9781250064318
Lccn
2015043222
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
  • bro-copy20160304-054
  • bro-cust20160304-054
System control number
  • 907965784
  • (OCoLC)907965784
Label
The selling of the Babe : the deal that changed baseball and created a legend, Glenn Stout
Link
http://www.netread.com/jcusers2/bk1388/318/9781250064318/image/lgcover.9781250064318.jpg
Publication
Copyright
Bar code
  • 31223116530073
  • 31223117157579
  • 31223117157629
  • 31223117157637
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 257-275) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
September 11, 1918 -- George Herman Ruth -- This means war -- 1918 -- Hijinks and heroes -- Out of left field -- Rebellion and revolution -- The Insurrectors -- For sale -- Welcome to New York -- The "Infant Swatigy" -- A new day -- Making the sale -- The Babe -- Closing the sale -- Appendix. Babe Ruth home run log : 1915 through 1920
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
294 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates
Isbn
9781250064318
Lccn
2015043222
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
  • bro-copy20160304-054
  • bro-cust20160304-054
System control number
  • 907965784
  • (OCoLC)907965784

Library Locations

    • Golden Gate Valley LibraryBorrow it
      1801 Green Street, San Francisco, CA, 94123, US
      37.797819 -122.428950
    • Mission Bay LibraryBorrow it
      960 4th Street, San Francisco, CA, 94158, US
      37.775330 -122.393195
    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      100 Larkin Street, San Francisco, CA, 94102, US
      37.779376 -122.415795
Processing Feedback ...