Coverart for item
The Resource The war for all the oceans : from Nelson at the Nile to Napoleon at Waterloo, Roy Adkins and Lesley Adkins

The war for all the oceans : from Nelson at the Nile to Napoleon at Waterloo, Roy Adkins and Lesley Adkins

Label
The war for all the oceans : from Nelson at the Nile to Napoleon at Waterloo
Title
The war for all the oceans
Title remainder
from Nelson at the Nile to Napoleon at Waterloo
Statement of responsibility
Roy Adkins and Lesley Adkins
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
An action-packed account of the sea battles of the Napoleonic War, a naval struggle that lasted from 1798 to 1815, beginning with Napoleon's seizing power and ending with the War of 1812. In this vivid and visceral account, the authors draw on eyewitness records to portray not only the battles but also the details of a sailor's life--shipwrecks, press-gangs, prostitutes, spies, and prisoners of war. This epic narrative history will appeal to fans of Patrick O'Brian and C. S. Forester, as well as all readers of military and social history.--From publisher description
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Adkins, Roy
Dewey number
940.2/745
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • maps
  • portraits
  • plates
Index
index present
LC call number
DC153
LC item number
.A245 2007
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Adkins, Lesley
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Great Britain
  • France
  • Second Coalition, War of the, 1798-1801
  • Napoleonic Wars, 1800-1815
Label
The war for all the oceans : from Nelson at the Nile to Napoleon at Waterloo, Roy Adkins and Lesley Adkins
Instantiates
Publication
Note
First published: London : Little, Brown, 2006
Bar code
  • 31223075304221
  • 31223075304239
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (p. [511]-519) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Gateway to India -- Battle of the Nile -- Siege of Acre -- From Naples to Copenhagen -- War and Peace -- Hot Press -- Invasion Fleet -- Turning Point -- In Every Sea -- Conflict and Commerce -- The Sea Wolf -- By Land and Sea -- The Grand Expedition -- Disaster -- Prisoners and Privateers -- The Hand of Providence -- Triumph and Tragedy -- The Great Mistake -- Up the Chesapeake -- Star-Spangled Banner -- Swansong -- The Turn of Fortune's Wheel
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
1st American ed.
Extent
xxvi, 534 p., [16] p. of plates
Isbn
9780670038640
Lccn
2006101017
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
ill., maps, ports.
System control number
  • 76937476
  • (OCoLC)76937476
Label
The war for all the oceans : from Nelson at the Nile to Napoleon at Waterloo, Roy Adkins and Lesley Adkins
Publication
Note
First published: London : Little, Brown, 2006
Bar code
  • 31223075304221
  • 31223075304239
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (p. [511]-519) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Gateway to India -- Battle of the Nile -- Siege of Acre -- From Naples to Copenhagen -- War and Peace -- Hot Press -- Invasion Fleet -- Turning Point -- In Every Sea -- Conflict and Commerce -- The Sea Wolf -- By Land and Sea -- The Grand Expedition -- Disaster -- Prisoners and Privateers -- The Hand of Providence -- Triumph and Tragedy -- The Great Mistake -- Up the Chesapeake -- Star-Spangled Banner -- Swansong -- The Turn of Fortune's Wheel
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
1st American ed.
Extent
xxvi, 534 p., [16] p. of plates
Isbn
9780670038640
Lccn
2006101017
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
ill., maps, ports.
System control number
  • 76937476
  • (OCoLC)76937476

Library Locations

    • San Francisco Public LibraryBorrow it
      100 Larkin Street, San Francisco, CA, 94102, US
      37.779376 -122.415795
Processing Feedback ...